top of page
  • Sue Lobo

Tried And Tested Tips To Top Your Brow Game


Bumped into a classmate from the year 2000 a week ago and the first thing she told me was that I looked the same even after all these years! Before I could decide how to take that comment, she quickly interjected that she meant at how I haven’t aged a bit! Bless!

Now if I had to show you what I looked at ages ago, you will not laugh, but probably faint lol. My eyebrows were completely untamed and my makeup routine at that point began with moisturizer and ended with a slick of eyeliner. How I wish my mother or my friends suggested I get my brows done (thanks so much guys!) because don’t you think full, well-groomed brows really anchor a natural look by keeping everything polished without looking obvious?

Ever since I started grooming my brows, I used to maintain a dainty shape but after Cara Delavigne really getting everyone in a frenzy with bold brows, I tried to grow them month after month but in vain…every time. Because God it is hard to step out without looking like an unkempt grizzly!! So up until my brow shaping appointment, I am down to brow powders and pencils to save face .. coz I never leave the house without my brows on. I used to try tweezing the tiny strays that tend to grow in the most obvious of all areas but sadly the ones I have do not provide any grip and yanking individual hair out is equivalent to getting a Brazilian wax. Ouch!!

Some of the products I use to make up my eyebrows;

The Balm highlighter in Mary-Lou, Nars Multiple Stick in Vientiane, Gosh Eyebrow pencil in Soft Black and Tweerzerman's travel size tweezer

Admittedly, it’s taken about two years to get my brows to where I want them! Although my bad brow days are long gone, it should come as no surprise when things can go wrong with eyebrow maintenance and I want to share some of my tips with you that I have learned from my brow experience so far:

Scrutinizing Your Brows

When looking at a particular spot on your face, it is very natural to go right up to the mirror making everything seem super zoomed and awful. Step back about a foot and half away from the mirror and study your brows. Then take a tiny step forward and you will end up knowing exactly what work your brows need. Think about it, aren’t you more objective when looking at a picture of yourself rather than in the mirror? And always ensure you have good lighting and are never plucking or shaping your brows when you are in a hurry.

The Secret To Luscious Brows

One of the salon assistants at a local parlor I go to has the darkest and most luscious eyebrows and I always wondered what was her secret until she revealed it was coconut oil and kajal (kohl). A dab of it on your brows together with natural kajal overnight for about a month not only darkens the hair but thickens it as well. Traditional Indian kajal made from natural carbon mixed with oil or (ghee) works wonders too and you will find these in the typical Indian grocers in Bur Dubai. If you are wary of eyebrow serums, go the natural way and you will see the results within a month of two depending on your hair growth.

Plucking

Plucking really helps if you have effective tweezers. Ages ago I bought two from a wholesale salon supplier however the results were not as effective as Tweezerman tweezers? The grip is so strong and precise that the hair just glides out. Waxing is a complete no-no and is best left for the other parts of your body. However when in doubt, don’t just pluck it out, stay conservative and always look at your full face.

Brow Shaping

The secret to proper brow shaping is to follow your bone structure. Arch it where your brow bone protrudes the most. It shouldn’t be curved in anyway, always work in straight lines beginning from under the brow to the arch and then from the arch downwards. Stencils do not really work. Period.

Brow Makeup

I have tried various different products from eyebrow pencils to pomades and wax to pens and I have concluded that a combination of pencil and powder give me the most natural finish when going for a diversional tactic of concealing thin or uneven brows or for that matter bald spots.

I think many of us go through a weird phase in our early 20s, unsure about how our eyebrows should look or like me, even take notice of them at all. Now, as a more reasonable and conservative adult, I think I’ve discovered the key to creating the right eyebrow shape. It is definitely not a one-shape-suits-all rule as each of us has a different face shape, eye shape, and overall facial structure but aim for fuller and softer brows as they will never go out of style and will subtracts years from your age ;)


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page